LIVE: President George H.W. Bush State Funeral at Washington National Cathedral in Washington D.C.

Thousands of mourners attended the funeral for former President George H.W. Bush at the National Cathedral in Washington, D.C., which included a eulogy by his son, former President George W. Bush. Watch the full service here.

Presidential funerals are planned far in advance, and presidential families receive help from the military to coordinate the events.

WEDNESDAY SCHEDULE

Since Monday about 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT George H.W. Bush’s body has been lying in state at the U.S. Capitol; the honor will continue until Wednesday at 8:45 a.m. with a guard of honor in attendance.

Wednesday at 10:00 a.m. ET / 9:00 a.m. CET – Departure ceremony at U.S. Capitol.

Wednesday 11:00 a.m. ET / 10:00 am. CT – Arrival and funeral at Washington National Cathedral, Washington, D.C.

Wednesday at 12:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. CT – Departure ceremony at Washington National Cathedral.

Wednesday at 1:15 p.m. ET / 12:15 p.m. CT – Departure ceremony at Joint Base Andrews. Bush’s remains will depart Joint Base Andrews, Maryland, to be flown to Ellington Field.

Wednesday at 4:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. CT – Arrival ceremony at Ellington Field.

Wednesday at 6:45 p.m. ET / 5:45 p.m. CT – Arrival ceremony at St. Martin’s Episcopal Church, Houston, Texas.

Wednesday at 7:45 p.m. ET / 6:45 p.m. CT – Bush’s remains will lie in repose at St. Martin’s Episcopal Church until Thursday at 7 a.m. with a guard of honor in attendance.

Federal offices, the stock market, and the US Postal service are closed today.

 RELATED NEWS … 

CARDINAL NEWS | President George HW Bush Funeral Schedule; Union Pacific Bush 4141 Called to Honorable Transport Mission






^^ MOBILE? USE VOICE MIC ^^

 facebook … 

GET ALERTS on Facebook.com/ArlingtonCardinal

GET ALERTS on Facebook.com/CardinalEmergencies

GET ALERTS on Facebook.com/ArlingtonHeightsCrime

Get updates from The Cardinal ALL NEWS FEEDS on Facebook. Just ‘LIKE’ the ‘Arlington Cardinal Page (become a fan of our page). The updates cover all posts and sub-category posts from The Cardinal — Arlingtoncardinal.com. You can also limit feeds to specific categories. See all of The Cardinal Facebook fan pages at Arlingtoncardinal.com/about/facebook …


Help fund The Cardinal Arlingtoncardinal.com/sponsor

 WASHINGTON NATIONAL CATHEDRAL … 

 ST MARTIN’S … 

The body George H.W. Bush arrived Monday in Washington, D.C., where was mourned and honored in the Capitol rotunda for three days. A funeral at Washington National Cathedral is scheduled today.