Juan Pablo Montoya’s Car No. 42 Slides Into Jet Dryer Truck Causing Crash with Fire; Delays Daytona 500

Multiple views of fire of jet dryer at Daytona 500 Monday night.

AFTERMATH VIDEO: Daytona 500 #42 Target Chevrolet car with Pablo Montoya driving hits a jet dryer with about 40 laps to go.

Crash with jet dryer truck with fire.

The Daytona 500 has been stopped after driver Juan Pablo Montoya rear-ended a jet dryer truck and caused a fiery explosion with burning fuel flowing onto the Daytona International Speedway track. During the spin, Montoya’s driver’s side hit the jet dryer in the rear.

Something on Montoya’s car apparently broke and caused the car to slide out of control into the truck. The yellow dryer truck holds 200 gallons of jet kerosene. Montoya is report on Twitter to have told Fox 13 anchor Chip Carter that is helmet melted in the crash.

Montoya is apparently not injured in the crash. The driver of the jet dryer truck was rescued from the vehicle. He was treated by medics and is at Halifax Health Medical Center resting comfortably and under observation.

The smell of jet fuel filled the air at the race track.

Dave Blaney was in first place at the time of the wreck — followed by Landon Cassill, Tony Raines and David Gilliland.

Crews were working on the track with Speedy Dry, white absorbent, and high pressure hoses to rinse the fuel-soaked absorbent.

The Daytona 500 was postponed more than 30 hours because of rain, rescheduled as a primetime event under the lights.

The race was expected to resume by 11:30 p.m. ET/10:30 p.m. CT, Green Flag at 12:10 a.m. ET/11:10 p.m. CT — race is on.

See more …
jpmontoya.com

Twitter #montoya …

1 Comment

Comments are closed.