Mission to Mars: “Perseverance” Rover on Target to Make Landing After Seven-Month Journey

Perseverance Rover (SOURCE: NASA)
Perseverance Rover (SOURCE: NASA).

CARDINAL NEWS Headlines, News Highlights and Current Events for Thursday, February 18 2021

A multi-billion-dollar mission to Mars with the rover, Perseverance, which is on approach to Mars, will navigate difficult terrain to land on Mars and begin a journey to search for signs of life. YouTube Tips ⓘ

NASA’s Mars 2020 Perseverance rover, with the Ingenuity Mars Helicopter attached to its belly, is on target to touch down gently on the Red Planet around 2:55 p.m. CST (3:55 p.m. EST 12:55 p.m. PST) today, February 18, 2021. The entry, descent, and landing team started on console at mission control at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory at 7:30 a.m. CST (8:30 a.m. ET 5:30 a.m. PST) Thursday morning.

Heat shield first, NASA is preparing for the Perseverance spacecraft to start blazing through the Martian atmosphere at around 3:48 p.m. EST (12:48 p.m. PST). At the time of landing, Mars will be 127 million miles (204 million kilometers) from Earth. At this distance, the one-way light time – the amount of time for a signal to get from Perseverance to Earth – is 11 minutes, 22 seconds.

MISSION STATUS PAGE

SOURCE: Images, audio, video, and computer files used in the rendition of 3-dimensional models NASA

LIVE STREAM

Direct from America’s space program to YouTube, watch NASA TV live streaming here to get the latest from our exploration of the universe and learn how we discover our home planet. YouTube Tips ⓘ

ALSO …

NASA Watch Online Page

M = MORE US & World News: m.arlingtoncardinal.com

MORE HEADLINES TODAY …

▶ This CARDINAL NEWS article features video(s) available on Twitter. You may need to touch the play button twice, or touch and hold the play button and select ‘Open’ from a popup menu. ▶




+ + + + +

Live Stream launch of Perseverance from Cape Canaveral Force Station, Florida. YouTube Tips ⓘ

Arlingtoncardinal.com/Mars

finance.yahoo.com
DJIA | NASDAQ Composite

US Weather Chart …

US Temperatures Map …

Recent Contiguous US Hi/Lo Temps

High Temperature for Wednesday, February 17, 2021
(as received by 7 am EST February 18)
89 at 17 miles east-southeast of Ochopee, FL
89 at Big Cypress Reservation, FL

Low Temperature for Thursday, February 18, 2021
(as received by 7 am EST February 18)
-18 at Copper Basin, ID

Birthdays on this date …

Polls and Popularity
Presidential approval ratings, popular brands, celebrities, automobiles, food brands and more …

Cardinal News Trending

MORE INFO BELOW ADS …




^^ MOBILE? USE VOICE MIC ^^

 facebook … 

Please ‘LIKE’ the ‘Arlington Cardinal Page. See all of The Cardinal Facebook fan pages at Arlingtoncardinal.com/about/facebook …


Help fund The Cardinal Arlingtoncardinal.com/sponsor

CARDINAL NEWS LIVE & ARCHIVE
CARDINAL NEWS (HEADLINES 360 Today & Past)

news.bing.com

news.google.com

Arlingtoncardinal.com/trending

CHECK FOR LIVE VIDEO STREAMS
CARDINAL NEWS LIVESTREAMS

▶ This CARDINAL NEWS article features video(s) available on Twitter. You may need to touch the play button twice, or touch and hold the play button and select ‘Open’ from a popup menu. ▶

https://twitter.com/human_Mars/status/1362124647060410370

Perseverance Rover (SOURCE: NASA)
Perseverance Rover (SOURCE: NASA).

After a 7-month journey, the NASA rover will attempt the historic space landing as part of its groundbreaking mission to find evidence of microscopic life on the red planet (GMA). YouTube Tips ⓘ

Hours away: NASA’S Perseverance Mars rover is expected to touch down at 3:55 p.m. ET Thursday, Feb. 18, 2021 (NewsNow from Fox). YouTube Tips ⓘ

Note: News on this page MAY BE ENTERED THROUGHOUT THE DAY, and SOME NEW INCIDENTS may be ENTERED on this page after the initial publish date as follow-up for the day’s incidents.

+ + + + + + + + + +

Favorites
Favorite referrals to get you started exploring Arlingtoncardinal.com.

NewsNOW
Breaking news at the US/World level (without weather service news)

LocalNews
Helps you see local news in categories from Arlington Heights, to nearby communities to Chicagoland

WeatherNOW
Helps you see current conditions and weather alerts with links to more comprehensive weather (Arlingtoncardinal.com/weather), radar, and NEXRAD

US/World Chicago
ABC News, ABC 7 Chicago, CBS News, CBS Chicago, Chicago Sun-Times, Chicago Tribune, Chicago Tribune Food, CNBC, CNN, Daily Mirror, MSNBC, NBC Chicago, NBC News, WGN TV News, FOX 32 News, FOX News Channel, FOX Business, Sky News, WBBM Newsradio