What Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg Will Face April 10-11 on Capitol Hill

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg arrived on Capitol Hill Monday April 9, 2018 ahead of his two days of testimony later this week wearing a dark suit, not his usual drab T-shirt.

Mark Zuckerberg will testifies before the Senate and the House this week in Congressional Testimony. Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg, age 33, will face questions from lawmakers in two separate hearings to explain how Facebook collects and handles its users’ personal information.

Mark Zuckerberg in Senate Congressional Testimony
Facebook, Social Media Privacy, and the Use and Abuse of Data
Senate Committee on the Judiciary, Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation

Date: Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Time: 2:15pm ET / 1:15pm CT / 11:15am PT
LOCATION: Hart Senate Office Building 216

Mark Zuckerberg in House Congressional Testimony

Date: Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Time: 10am ET / 9am CT / 7am PT

The hearings were scheduled after government leaders learned that Cambridge Analytica, a data firm with ties to Donald Trump’s campaign, was allowed to collect the personal data of 87 million users without their permission and after Facebook left a 2010 data harvesting tool in place to harvest private information of users for 3 years after they were admonished by the FTC. With the admonishment the FTC scrutinized facebook marketing tactics, and consequently had Facebook sign a consent decree where Facebook promised to harvest user data only with informed consent, and where Facebook promised to protect their users.

Uncertainties that may be determined …

What will happen with consumer trust of Facebook?

What regulatory issues will arise?

Is the disdain toward Mark Zuckerberg real, or sourced from a vocal minority?

How will the hearings affect Facebook’s share price?

During the hearings, which political party will hit Facebook harder?

Sam Biddle, technology reporter for The Intercept, and CBS News chief congressional correspondent Nancy Cordes joins CBSN with more on Zuckerberg’s expected remarks.

See also …
Mark Zuckerberg’s Prepared Testimony Before House Energy and Commerce Committee Hearing Wednesday April 11, 2018




 facebook … 

GET ALERTS on Facebook.com/ArlingtonCardinal

GET ALERTS on Facebook.com/CardinalEmergencies

GET ALERTS on Facebook.com/ArlingtonHeightsCrime

Get updates from The Cardinal ALL NEWS FEEDS on Facebook. Just ‘LIKE’ the ‘Arlington Cardinal Page (become a fan of our page). The updates cover all posts and sub-category posts from The Cardinal — Arlingtoncardinal.com. You can also limit feeds to specific categories. See all of The Cardinal Facebook fan pages at Arlingtoncardinal.com/about/facebook …


Help fund The Cardinal Arlingtoncardinal.com/sponsor