Chicago Marathon Winners: Tsegaye Kebede (Men) and Atsede Baysa (Women) — Both from Ethiopia

Tsegaye Kebede (2:04:38) becomes the first Ethiopian to win the 2012 Bank of America Chicago Marathon, breaking the year-old Chicago Marathon course record by nearly a minute.

Atsede Baysa (2:22:03) of Ethiopia was the first place winner for women, beating Kenya’s Rita Jeptoo (2:22:04) by one second. Russia’s Liliya Shobukhova (2:22:59), who has been a womens’ first place winner the past three races, placed fourth. Kenya’s Lucy Kabuu (2:22:41) came in third.

Race time weather was in the 40’s.

Get updates from The Cardinal ALL NEWS FEEDS on Facebook. Just ‘LIKE’ the ‘Arlington Cardinal Page (become a fan of our page). The updates cover all posts and sub-category posts from The Cardinal — You can also limit feeds to specific categories. See all of The Cardinal Facebook fan pages at …