McHenry County Conservation District Police Chief Laura King Makes History as First Female ILACP President


LOMBARD, Ill. – Members of the Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police (ILACP) witnessed another milestone on April 21, 2023, as they welcomed the 75th president of the association, as well as the first female in its more than 80-year history. President Laura King was sworn in by Judge Robert Zalud during the ILACP Awards Banquet in Lombard, Illinois last month. She will serve one year as president after having served three years as vice president.

“As I step into the role as the 75th president of the Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police, the magnitude of this opportunity does not escape me,” said President King during her speech at the awards banquet. “I am humbled and will be forever grateful for the privilege to lead such an amazing organization during such important times.”

Looking Ahead

President King has set several goals for herself and the organization over the next year including:

Leading the way in creating a climate of improved officer safety and wellness

Trust building initiatives with communities of color

Recruitment and retention initiatives

“I stand before you as the first female president of the Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police. And it is my final goal that at the end of my term, that people will no longer be talking about the fact that I was the first girl president, and instead remember me as a good president. For I plan to be a damn good president and it is my intention for people to think back on my term and remember my competency, our accomplishments, and the leadership I provide for this great organization over my gender.”

— President Laura King

ILACP President King succeeds Chief Lou Jogmen of Highland Park who moves to his new position as Immediate Past President. Several other ILACP members were sworn in to the 2023 Board of Officers on April 21:

1st Vice President Chief Marc Maton

2nd Vice President Chief Joe Leonas

3rd Vice President Chief Dan Ryan

Vice President at Large, Region 1 Chief Kirk Brueggeman

Vice President at Large, Region 2 Chief Darren Gault

Vice President at Large, Region 3 Chief Pat Kreis

Steve Casstevens will remain as ILACP Parliamentarian.



 facebook … 

Please ‘LIKE’ the ‘Arlington Cardinal Page. See all of The Cardinal Facebook fan pages at …

Help fund The Cardinal


Search Amazon …

Search for products sold on Amazon: is an Amazon Associate website, which means that a small percentage of your purchases gets paid to at no extra cost to you. When you use the search boxes above, any Amazon banner ad, or any product associated with an Amazon banner on this website, you help pay expenses related to maintaining and creating new services and ideas for a resourceful website. See more info at