US-Russian Space Crew Launches Aboard Soyuz M12 from Kazakhstan March 14, 2019; Docked with ISS 6 Hours Later Over Peru’s West Coast

 SUPPORT UKRAINE/DONATE NOW 

A Soyuz rocket carrying a crew of three is headed to the International Space Station. The crew made it safely into orbit today after a harrowing launch abort last October. CBS News space analyst Bill Harwood joins CBSN to discuss the launch.

Soyuz MS-12 is a Soyuz spaceflight which launched on March 14, 2019 from Kazakhstan, carrying three members of the Expedition 59 crew to the International Space Station — one Russian and two Americans, to the International Space Station.

According to NASA Spaceflight liftoff occurred at 15:14:09 EDT (1914:09 UTC) on 14 March 2019 from the Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan. Soyuz MS-12 completed rendezvous and docking operations with the International Space Station in space orbit overhead near Peru almost six hours later. The hatch was opened 2 hours and six minutes after docking.

Russia currently leases approximately 2,317 sq mi of territory enclosing the Baikonur Cosmodrome space launch site in south central Kazakhstan, which was the last of the Soviet republics to declare independence during the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991.

The Soyuz MS-12 spacecraft docked to the International Space Station’s Rassvet module on 15 March 2019, at 01:01 UTC (14 March, 21:01 EDT). Expedition 59-60 crew members, Roscosmos cosmonaut Alexey Ovchinin, NASA astronauts Christina Koch and Nick Hague are scheduled to enter the station at 03:10 UTC. The Soyuz MS-12 spacecraft was launched by a Soyuz-FG launch vehicle from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, on 14 March 2019, at 19:14:09 UTC (15:14:09 EDT; 15 March 2019, at 01:14:09 local time).

The Soyuz MS-12 spacecraft hatch was opened on 15 March 2019, at 03:07 UTC (14 March, 23:07 EDT). Expedition 59-60 crew members, Roscosmos cosmonaut Alexey Ovchinin, NASA astronauts Christina Koch and Nick Hague will spend the next six months on the International Space Station.

The Soyuz MS-12 spacecraft was launched by Soyuz-FG launch vehicle from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, on 14 March 2019, at 19:14 UTC (15:14 EDT; 15 March 2019, at 01:14 local time). The Soyuz MS-12 spacecraft with International Space Station Expedition 59-60 crew members, Roscosmos cosmonaut Alexey Ovchinin, NASA astronauts Christina Koch and Nick Hague, is scheduled to dock to the station’s Rassvet module just 6 hours after launch, on 15 March 2019, at 01:07 UTC (14 March, 21:07 EDT).

Credits:
NASA/Roscosmos

See also …

Soyuz MS-12 docks with the Space Station

MORE INFO BELOW ADS …




^^ MOBILE? USE VOICE MIC ^^

 facebook … 

GET ALERTS on Facebook.com/ArlingtonCardinal

GET ALERTS on Facebook.com/CardinalEmergencies

GET ALERTS on Facebook.com/ArlingtonHeightsCrime

Get updates from The Cardinal ALL NEWS FEEDS on Facebook. Just ‘LIKE’ the ‘Arlington Cardinal Page (become a fan of our page). The updates cover all posts and sub-category posts from The Cardinal — Arlingtoncardinal.com. You can also limit feeds to specific categories. See all of The Cardinal Facebook fan pages at Arlingtoncardinal.com/about/facebook …


Help fund The Cardinal Arlingtoncardinal.com/sponsor

Arlingtoncardinal.com is an Amazon Associate website, which means that a small percentage of your purchases gets paid to Arlingtoncardinal.com at no extra cost to you. When you use the search boxes above, any Amazon banner ad, or any product associated with an Amazon banner on this website, you help pay expenses related to maintaining Arlingtoncardinal.com and creating new services and ideas for a resourceful website. See more info at Arlingtoncardinal.com/AdDisclosure