Visible Northern Lights Possible in Northern Illinois — Especially Until About 1:00 AM

UPDATE: Nothing visible at 11:00 p.m., but conditions are good for viewing … the sky is perfectly clear and the moon doesn’t rise until 12:44 a.m. Monday. Best chance for seeing the Northern Lights would be in a backyard without light nearby. Face north and look for Northern Lights that would likely look like green rain showers — not the bright multi-colored displays you see in photo taken at higher latitudes closer to the North Pole.

G2 (Moderate) geomagnetic storm conditions were observed at 14:54 UTC (9:54 A.M. CT) and 19:57 UTC (2:57 P.M. CT) on 16 July due to continued activity from a coronal mass ejection that arrived earlier in the day. The G2 Warning has been extended and is now valid until 03:00 UTC on 17 July.

The Aurora Borealis phenomenon — also known as the Northern Lights — may be visible “as low as New York to Wisconsin to Washington State,”

— NOAA’s Space Weather Prediction Center

The Northern Lights may be visible in latitudes as low as locations in New York, northern Ohio, northern Pennsylvania, northern Illinois and Wisconsin and state in between to Washington State according to the 3-day forecast model from NOAA’s Space Weather Prediction Center.

G2 EFFECTS
Power Systems: power grid fluctuations; voltage alarms at higher latitudes

Spacecraft: Orientation irregularities; increased drag on low-earth orbiters

Radio: High-latitude HF propagation fades

Arlingtoncardinal.com/sun …

Arlingtoncardinal.com/clouds …




Get updates from The Cardinal ALL NEWS FEEDS on Facebook. Just ‘LIKE’ the ‘Arlington Cardinal Page (become a fan of our page). The updates cover all posts and sub-category posts from The Cardinal — Arlingtoncardinal.com. You can also limit feeds to specific categories. See all of The Cardinal Facebook fan pages at Arlingtoncardinal.com/about/facebook …


Help fund The Cardinal Arlingtoncardinal.com/sponsor