NWS HIGH WIND WARNING; Tornado Outbreak Possible In Chicagoland, Illinois, Indiana

CONDITIONS EXIST FOR TWO-PRONGED WEATHER ASSAULT (1) HIGH NON-THUNDERSTORM WINDS AND (2) HIGH WINDS FROM SEVERE THUNDERSTORMS AND TORNADOES.

THE HIGHEST CHANCE FOR TORNADOES IS THE TIME PERIOD BETWEEN NOON AND 3 PM SUNDAY.

[The National Weather Service Storm Prediction Center also has outlined an area of High Risk for Severe Weather/Tornado for Sunday for the far south side of Chicago and eastern counties of Illinois. A Moderate Risk for Severe Weather/Tornado exists for the rest of most of Illinois including the northwest suburbs. EF3 tornadoes are possible. Almost all of Illinois is in an area outlined for High Risk of damaging thunderstorms. In the Chicagoland region we are at a 10 percent or greater probability of 74 mph winds or greater. Otherwise we are in an almost certain area of risk of winds of 57 mph or greater — even from non-thunderstorm winds. The non-thunderstorm gusts are expected to start about 10:00 a.m. THE HIGHEST RISK OF TORNADOES EXISTS FROM CHICAGO SOUTH TO FORD COUNTY AND POINTS EAST, BUT TORNADOES ARE POSSIBLE IN THE ENTIRE CHICAGOLAND AREA. THE STRONG SHEAR AND POTENTIAL FOR MAINTENANCE OF DISCRETE THUNDERSTORM CELLS SUGGESTS THE POTENTIAL FOR STRONGER AND LONGER-TRACKED TORNADOES IF THEY DEVELOP. Thunderstorm cells are expected to start to develop in the far southwest suburbs by late morning.]

TORNADO OUTLOOK GRAPHIC from the National Weather Service Storm Prediction Center.

URGENT – WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE CHICAGO IL
309 AM CST SUN NOV 17 2013

DUPAGE-COOK-LA SALLE-KENDALL-GRUNDY-WILL-KANKAKEE-LIVINGSTON-
IROQUOIS-FORD-LAKE IN-PORTER-NEWTON-JASPER-BENTON-
INCLUDING THE CITIES OF…WHEATON…CHICAGO…OTTAWA…OSWEGO…
MORRIS…JOLIET…KANKAKEE…PONTIAC…WATSEKA…PAXTON…GARY…
VALPARAISO…MOROCCO…RENSSELAER…FOWLER
309 AM CST SUN NOV 17 2013 /409 AM EST SUN NOV 17 2013/

…HIGH WIND WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 10 AM CST /11 AM EST/ THIS
MORNING TO 8 PM CST /9 PM EST/ THIS EVENING…

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN CHICAGO HAS ISSUED A HIGH WIND
WARNING…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 10 AM CST /11 AM EST/ THIS
MORNING TO 8 PM CST /9 PM EST/ THIS EVENING. THE WIND ADVISORY IS
NO LONGER IN EFFECT.

* TIMING…LATE THIS MORNING THROUGH THIS EVENING.

* WINDS…SOUTHWEST WINDS WILL INCREASE BY EARLY AFTERNOON…THEN
BECOME WESTERLY BY EARLY EVENING AS A STRONG COLD FRONT PUSHES
ACROSS THE AREA. WIDESPREAD WIND GUSTS OF 45 TO 55 MPH ARE
EXPECTED WITH A FEW GUSTS TO AROUND 60 MPH…ESPECIALLY IN THE
MID TO LATE AFTERNOON. WIND SPEEDS SHOULD EASE LATER THIS
EVENING.

* IMPACTS…WIND GUSTS TO 60 MPH COULD BLOW DOWN TREE LIMBS AND
POWER LINES…AND COULD CAUSE MINOR STRUCTURAL DAMAGE TO
BUILDINGS. WINDS WILL CREATE HAZARDOUS DRIVING CONDITIONS FOR
HIGH PROFILE VEHICLES.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A HIGH WIND WARNING MEANS A HAZARDOUS HIGH WIND EVENT IS EXPECTED
OR OCCURRING. SUSTAINED WIND SPEEDS OF AT LEAST 40 MPH OR GUSTS
OF 58 MPH OR MORE CAN LEAD TO PROPERTY DAMAGE.

HIGH WIND GRAPHIC showing high wind outlook in the purple hashed region.


Become a fan of The Cardinal weather page. Submit your pictures or just stay up-to-date on weather topics — go direct to the Arlington Cardinal Weather photos. For a list of all of The Cardinal Facebook fan pages, go to Arlingtoncardinal.com/about/facebook …