National Weather Service Wind Advisory For Sunday; Chicagoland and All of Illinois In Severe Weather Zone Sunday

URGENT – WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE CHICAGO IL
259 PM CST SAT NOV 16 2013

[The National Weather Service Storm Prediction Center also has outlined an area of Moderate Risk for Severe Weather for Sunday … THE PRIMARY SEVERE THREAT IS EXPECTED TO DEVELOP DURING THE LATE MORNING INTO EARLY/MID AFTERNOON FROM EASTERN IOWA INTO PARTS OF NORTHERN/CENTRAL IL…THEN SPREAD EWD THROUGH THE OVERNIGHT HOURS ACROSS THE GREAT LAKES AND OH VALLEY … weather models INDICATE DEVELOPMENT OF SUPERCELLS ALONG/AHEAD OF THE COLD FRONT ACROSS PARTS OF ILLINOIS/INDIANA AND SOUTHERN LOWER MICHIGAN ALONG/AHEAD OF THE STRONGEST EASTWARD SURGE OF THE COLD FRONT. THESE WILL HAVE A WINDOW OF OPPORTUNITY FROM MID-LATE AFTERNOON INTO THE EARLY EVENING TO PRODUCE SWATHS OF DAMAGING WIND GUSTS…SEVERE HAIL AND POSSIBLY SEVERAL TORNADOES/SOME STRONG. The amount of rainfall is expected to be less than 0.75 inch from Saturday night until about 6:00 p.m Sunday.]

Severe Weather Outlook from Storm Prediction Center valid November 17, 2013 from 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (NOVEMBER 17, 2013 1200Z to NOVEMBER 18, 2013 1200Z).

WIND ADVISORY …
LEE-DE KALB-KANE-DUPAGE-COOK-LA SALLE-KENDALL-GRUNDY-WILL-
KANKAKEE-LIVINGSTON-IROQUOIS-FORD-LAKE IN-PORTER-NEWTON-JASPER-
BENTON-
INCLUDING THE CITIES OF…DIXON…DEKALB…AURORA…WHEATON…
CHICAGO…OTTAWA…OSWEGO…MORRIS…JOLIET…KANKAKEE…
PONTIAC…WATSEKA…PAXTON…GARY…VALPARAISO…MOROCCO…
RENSSELAER…FOWLER
259 PM CST SAT NOV 16 2013 /359 PM EST SAT NOV 16 2013/

…WIND ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 10 AM CST /11 AM EST/ TO 8 PM CST
/9 PM EST/ SUNDAY…

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN CHICAGO HAS ISSUED A WIND
ADVISORY…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 10 AM CST /11 AM EST/ TO 8 PM
CST /9 PM EST/ SUNDAY.

* TIMING…MID SUNDAY MORNING THROUGH SUNDAY EVENING.

* WINDS…SOUTHWEST WINDS AT 30 MPH WILL BE GUSTING TO 45 MPH BY
MID SUNDAY MORNING. THEY WILL THEN TURN WEST BEHIND A COLD FRONT
SUNDAY AFTERNOON AND CONTINUE TO BE STRONG THROUGH SUNDAY
EVENING.

* IMPACTS…BE CERTAIN THAT ANY LOOSE ITEMS SUSCEPTIBLE TO HIGH
WINDS ARE SECURED. WINDS MAY ADVERSELY IMPACT HIGH PROFILE
VEHICLES.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A WIND ADVISORY MEANS THAT SUSTAINED WINDS OF 30 TO 39 MPH…OR
GUSTS BETWEEN 45 AND 57 MPH…ARE LIKELY. WINDS THIS STRONG CAN
CAUSE MINOR PROPERTY DAMAGE UNLESS PRECAUTIONS ARE TAKEN. DRIVING
MAY BE DIFFICULT…ESPECIALLY IN HIGH PROFILE VEHICLES. MOTORISTS
SHOULD BE ALERT AND USE CAUTION.


Become a fan of The Cardinal weather page. Submit your pictures or just stay up-to-date on weather topics — go direct to the Arlington Cardinal Weather photos. For a list of all of The Cardinal Facebook fan pages, go to Arlingtoncardinal.com/about/facebook …