Red Flag Warning Fire Risk for Brush and Wildlands Effective Monday 7 AM CDT Until 9 PM CDT

URGENT – FIRE WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE CHICAGO IL
515 PM CDT SUN OCT 7 2012

WINNEBAGO-BOONE-MCHENRY-LAKE IL-OGLE-LEE-DE KALB-KANE-DUPAGE-COOK-
LA SALLE-KENDALL-GRUNDY-WILL-KANKAKEE-LIVINGSTON-IROQUOIS-FORD-
LAKE IN-PORTER-NEWTON-JASPER-BENTON-
515 PM CDT SUN OCT 7 2012 /615 PM EDT SUN OCT 7 2012/

…RED FLAG WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 7 AM CDT /8 AM EDT/ TO 9 PM
CDT /10 PM EDT/ MONDAY…

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN CHICAGO HAS ISSUED A RED FLAG
WARNING FOR STRONG WINDS AND LOW RELATIVE HUMIDITY…WHICH IS IN
EFFECT FROM 7 AM CDT /8 AM EDT/ TO 9 PM CDT /10 PM EDT/ MONDAY.

* AFFECTED AREA…NORTHERN ILLINOIS AND NORTHWEST INDIANA.

* WINDS…SOUTH TO SOUTHWEST 15 TO 25 MPH WITH GUSTS UP TO 35 MPH.

* TIMING…THE STRONGEST WINDS WILL DEVELOP MONDAY MORNING AND
PERSIST THROUGH EARLY MONDAY EVENING AND AID IN LOWERING
RELATIVE HUMIDITY VALUES.

* RELATIVE HUMIDITY…AROUND 25 PERCENT.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A RED FLAG WARNING MEANS THAT CRITICAL FIRE WEATHER CONDITIONS
ARE EITHER OCCURRING NOW…OR WILL SHORTLY. A COMBINATION OF
STRONG WINDS…LOW RELATIVE HUMIDITY…AND WARM TEMPERATURES WILL
CREATE EXPLOSIVE FIRE GROWTH POTENTIAL.



Stay informed with news from The Cardinal’s Emergencies Behind the Scenes Facebook page — Facebook.com/CardinalEmergencies. Includes links to favorite public safety and emergency rescuers and product manufacturers and safety companies that have facebook pages. Submit your pictures or just stay up-to-date on with fire, rescue, EMS and police photo galleries. Please add your public safety photo to the wall album — go direct to the Arlington Cardinal Emergencies Behind the Scenes photos. For a list of all of The Cardinal Facebook fan pages, go to Arlingtoncardinal.com/about/facebook …

Arlington Heights Fire Engine