The United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois is the trial-level court with jurisdiction over the northern counties of Illinois.

The eastern division includes Cook, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, La Salle, Lake, and Will counties. Its sessions are held in Chicago and Wheaton.

The western division includes Boone, Carroll, De Kalb, Jo Daviess, Lee, McHenry, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside, and Winnebago. Its sessions are held in Freeport and Rockford.