State Department: Mexico
Mexico Travel Warning

Mexico is a federal republic in the southern portion of North America — bordered to the north by the United States; to the south and west by the Pacific Ocean; to the southeast by Guatemala, Belize, and the Caribbean Sea; and to the east by the Gulf of Mexico. Mexico covers almost two million square kilometers (over 760,000 sq mi), and is the sixth largest country in the Americas by total area. Mexico is the 13th largest independent nation in the world.

Mexico has traditionally been among the most visited countries in the world according to the World Tourism Organization and it is the most visited country in the Americas, after the United States. The vast majority of tourists come to Mexico from the United States and Canada — followed by tourists from Europe and Asia.